City Council

The City Council is the governing body of the City of Grand Ledge. It was originally established in 1893, with the original incorporation of the City, as a five member board made up of the Mayor and four Council members, two each representing the City’s then two wards. Now, it is a seven member board made up of the Mayor and six Council members, two each representing the City’s three wards.

The Mayor is elected at-large to a two-year term each odd-year November election. One Council member is elected from each ward each November election to a two-year term. The City Council regularly meets the 2nd and 4th Monday of each month at 7:30 p.m. in the Council chambers, City Hall, 310 Greenwood St. Agendas, meeting packets, and minutes and Ward Map are available online.



For more information about the City Council, contact Gregory Newman, City Clerk at or by calling (517) 622-7920.

Project Image Every two years Grand Ledge City Council members review the goals they wish to make significant progress towards in the coming years. City Council members then prioritize a number of projects in its continued efforts to improve the community. Establishing tiered priorities helps to ensure clear direction and focus for city staff, board members, and the community.

Project Image The City of Grand Ledge welcomes Mayor Thom Sowle to lead our city forward as we continue to progress as a 21st century community.

City Council: Tom Jancek, Brett Gillespie, Don Willems, Mayor Pro-Tem Keith Mulder, Rick Lantz, Lynne MacDowell, and Mayor Thom Sowle

Ward Council Members Term Expires Contact Information
1 Keith Mulder (Mayor Pro-Tem) 2022 (517) 627-3512   Email
1 Brett Gillespie 2020 (517) 449-7243   Email
2 Rick Lantz 2020 (517) 627-3389   Email
2 Lynne MacDowell 2022 (517) 627-2149  Email
3 Tom Jancek 2020 (517) 627-6558   Email
3 Don Willems 2022 (517) 980-5415    Email